Year of God’s Abundance

This has been a challenging, perplexing and emotionally painful year for me and for many of us; all the more reason to hold on to the hope of God’s faithful promises.

Recently, I had a big scare about a mysterious medical problem my husband was going through. It has been resolved, but in the midst of the crisis, I was on an emotional roller coaster riding the turns between processing grief and standing strong; moving up and down between fear and courage. A very tumultuous ride to say the least. I leaned on friends, my faith and sought counseling. Relief came when I released my white knuckled grip and rode with my hands raised up to God. 

Letting Go

The human psyche is delicate and complicated. Our flesh and God’s Spirit are at odds with one another.¹ This could be the subject of a lifetime of blogs but, right now, I will stick to this one simple thing. Whatever difficulties you are going through, my prayer is that meditating on these promises of God will comfort you as they have me and help bring you into healing, restoration, transformation and joy. 

As we let go of the old and embrace the new, I wish this New Year to be an exceedingly abundant year of grace for you, beyond your wildest dreams.

Ephesians 3-20

Praying the Promises of God

Abundance
“Now to Him who is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that works in us.” – Ephesians 3:20 (NKJV)

Purpose
“The Lord will work out his plans for my life—for your faithful love, O Lord, endures forever. Don’t abandon me, for you made me.” – Psalm 138:8 (NLT)

Comfort
“The Lord is near the brokenhearted and saves the crushed in spirit.” – Psalm 34: 18

Favor
“For the Lord God is a sun and shield; the Lord bestows favor and honor; no good thing does he withhold from those whose walk is blameless.” – Psalm 84:11

Guidance
“I will instruct you and teach you in the way you should go; I will counsel you with my loving eye on you.” – Psalm 32:8

Compassion
“Praise the Lord, my soul, and forget not all his benefits— who forgives all your sins and heals all your diseases, who redeems your life from the pit and crowns you with love and compassion, who satisfies your desires with good things so that your youth is renewed like the eagle’s.” – Psalm 103:2-5

Righteousness
“The path of the righteous is like the morning sun, shining ever brighter till the full light of day.” – Proverbs 4:18

1 John 1-9

Forgiveness
“If we confess our sins he is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins, and purify us from all unrighteousness.” – 1 John 1:9

Endurance
“No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; he will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, he will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.” – 1 Corinthians 10:13

Healing
“Heal me, LORD, and I will be healed; save me and I will be saved, for you are the one I praise.” – Jeremiah 17:14

Restoration
“I have swept away your offenses like a cloud, your sins like the morning mist. Return to me, for I have redeemed you.” – Isaiah – 44:22

Fellowship
“But if we walk in the light, as he is in the light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus, his Son, purifies us from all sin.” – 1 John 1:7

Meditation
“Let the words of my mouth and the meditation of my heart be acceptable in your sight, O Lord, my rock and my redeemer.” – Psalm 19:14 (ESV)

Harmony
“Put on then, as God’s chosen ones, holy and beloved, compassionate hearts, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience, bearing with one another and, if one has a complaint against another, forgiving each other; as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. And above all these put on love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony.” – Colossians 3:12-14 (ESV)

John 14-27

Peace
“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give you. I do not give to you as the world gives. Do not let your hearts be troubled and do not be afraid.” – John 14:27

Safety
“For the waywardness of the simple will kill them, and the complacency of fools will destroy them; but whoever listens to me will live in safety and be at ease, without fear of harm.” – Proverbs 1:32-33

Provision
“And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of his glory in Christ Jesus.” – Philippians 4:19

Courage
“Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid or terrified because of them, for the Lord your God goes with you; he will never leave you nor forsake you.” – Deuteronomy 31:6

Judgment
“Accept him whose faith is weak, without passing judgment on disputable matters. One man’s faith allows him to eat everything, but another man, whose faith is weak, eats only vegetables. The man who eats everything must not look down on him who does not, and the man who does not eat everything must not condemn the man who does, for God has accepted him. Who are you to judge someone else’s servant? To his own master he stands or falls. And he will stand, for the Lord is able to make him stand.” – Romans 14:1-4

Priorities
“But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you.” – Matthew 6:33

Assurance
“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow–not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.” – Romans 8:38 (NLT)

Hebrews 10-23

Hope
“Let us hold unswervingly to the hope we profess, for he who promised is faithful.” – Hebrews 10:23

Understanding
“What we have received is not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, so that we may understand what God has freely given us.” – 1 Corinthians 2:12

Prayer
“I urge you, first of all, to pray for all people. Ask God to help them; intercede on their behalf, and give thanks for them.” – 1 Timothy 2:1

Goodness
“The Lord is good to all: and his tender mercies are over all his works.” – Psalm 145:9

Acceptance
“Therefore welcome one another as Christ has welcomed you, for the glory of God.” – Romans 15:7

Health
“Do not be wise in your own eyes; fear the Lord and shun evil. This will bring health to your body and nourishment to your bones.” – Proverbs 3:7-8

God’s Kingdom
“For the Kingdom of God is not a matter of eating and drinking, but of righteousness, peace and joy in the Holy Spirit, because anyone who serves Christ in this way is pleasing to God and receives human approval.” – Romans 14:17-18

Psalm 27-1

Strength
“The Lord is my light and my salvation; whom shall I fear? The Lord is the strength of my life; of whom shall I be afraid?” – Psalm 27:1 (KJV)

Mercy
“But because of his great love for us, God, who is rich in mercy, made us alive with Christ even when we were dead in transgressions—it is by grace you have been saved” – Ephesians 2:4

Purification
“I will cleanse them from all the sin they have committed against me and will forgive all their sins of rebellion against me.” – Jeremiah 33:8

Reconciliation
“The Lord your God is with you, the Mighty Warrior who saves. He will take great delight in you; in his love he will no longer rebuke you, but will rejoice over you with singing.” – Zephaniah 3:17

Gratitude
“This is the day that the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” – Psalm 118:24

Faith
“Therefore, since we have been justified by faith, we have peace with God through our Lord Jesus Christ. Through him we have also obtained access by faith into this grace in which we stand, and we rejoice in hope of the glory of God.” – Romans 5:1-2

Truth
“And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we have seen his glory, glory as of the only Son from the Father, full of grace and truth.” – John 1:14

1 John 4-19

Love
“We love because he first loved us.” – 1 John 4:19

Kindness
“He is so rich in kindness and grace that he purchased our freedom with the blood of his Son and forgave our sins. He has showered his kindness on us, along with all wisdom and understanding.” – Galatians 1:7-8 (NLT)

Freedom
“Sin is no longer your master, for you no longer live under the requirements of the law. Instead, you live under the freedom of God’s grace.” – Romans 6:14 (NLT)

Wisdom
“But the wisdom from above is first pure, then peaceable, gentle, open to reason, full of mercy and good fruits, impartial and sincere.” – James 3:17 (ESV)

Thoughts
“And now, dear brothers and sisters, one final thing. Fix your thoughts on what is true, and honorable, and right, and pure, and lovely, and admirable. Think about things that are excellent and worthy of praise.” – Philippians 4:8 (NLT)

Victory
“But thank God! He gives us victory over sin and death through our Lord Jesus Christ.” – 1 Corinthians 15:57

Transformation
“And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord, who is the Spirit.” – 2 Corinthians 3:18 (ESV)

Direction
“Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths.” – Proverbs 3: 5-6 (NKJV)

Desire
“Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart.” – Psalm 37:4

Power
“I also pray that you will understand the incredible greatness of God’s power for us who believe him. This is the same mighty power that raised Christ from the dead and seated him in the place of honor at God’s right hand in the heavenly realms.” – Ephesians 1:19-20 (NLT)

Grace
“For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, not a result of works, so that no one may boast.” – Ephesians 2:8-9 (ESV)

God’s Children
“The Spirit himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and fellow heirs with Christ, provided we suffer with him in order that we may also be glorified with him.” – Romans 8:16-17 (ESV)

Thanksgiving
“Give thanks to the Lord, for he is good; his love endures forever.” – Psalm 107:1

Perseverance
“Blessed is the one who perseveres under trial because, having stood the test, that person will receive the crown of life that the Lord has promised to those who love him.” – James 1:12

Romans 15-13

Joy
“May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace as you trust in him, so that you may overflow with hope by the power of the Holy Spirit.” – Romans 15:13

Self-worth
“For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” – Psalm 139:13-14

Trust
“The Lord is my strength and my shield; my heart trusts in him, and I am helped. My heart leaps for joy and I will give thanks to him in song.” – Psalm 28:7

Redemption
“For all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God, and are justified by his grace as a gift, through the redemption that is in Christ Jesus.” – Romans 3:24 (ESV)

Deliverance
“Now all glory to God, who is able to keep you from falling away and will bring you with great joy into his glorious presence without a single fault.” – Jude 1:24

Salvation
“Believe in the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved—you and your household.” – Acts 16:31

Eternal Life
“For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.” – John 3:16

God is with us; God is for us. May these words live forever in our hearts! From our house to yours have a Happy New Year filled with the blessings of God’s promises.

Eichberg Family Christmas

Be kind to yourself. 

With love, Linda

 

References: Bible verses are from The Holy Bible NIV, unless otherwise stated.

  1. http://ptl2010.com/2011/02/03/where-is-my-miracle/

© All rights reserved

2 thoughts on “Year of God’s Abundance

Leave a Reply

