Gratitude God Rewards

Matthew McConaughey

Matthew McConaughey thanked God, his fellow nominees and cast members after receiving his Oscar for Best Actor for in his role in “Dallas Buyers Club.” He said, “First off I want to thank God, because that’s who I look up to. He’s graced my life with opportunities that I know are not of my hand or any other human hand. He has shown me that it’s a scientific fact that gratitude reciprocates. In the words of the late (British actor) Charlie Laughton, who said, ‘When you got God you got a friend and that friend is you.'” McConaughey then continued to show his gratitude for his wife, children, mother and late father.

I believe gratitude is an expression of God’s goodness and celebrating it will bring more of His goodness into your life. – L.E.

Many professionals agree. Deepak Chopra, MD, notes that the simple practice of gratitude is a transformational act that opens us to infinite abundance, boundless love and carries us to a place of deep peace. Dr. Chopra adds that when we invite the practice of gratitude into our daily lives, “we turn darkness into light and fear into love.”

“When we focus on the things we are grateful for, we are open and accepting of life as it is –  perfectly imperfect. Therefore, in gratitude, the ego steps out of the way, enabling us to connect more deeply with Spirit, the true self and the source of all those things that have manifested in our lives.” – Deepak Chopra

These are some of the reasons why I started writing this gratitude blog a little over a year ago. It’s one way I can worship God and express my gratitude for His generosity!

The Blessing of Family and Community

The highlight of this month was visiting, Lilly, one of my six sisters who lives in Florida with her husband and five children. It was great to get away. It had been a while since I’d seen them all so I was more appreciative of simple things like watching Lilly cook. She’s amazing, she keeps a beautiful home and still makes time to baked different types of whole grain muffins, from scratch, every morning! I cherished sharing meals together and seeing my younger niece and nephew in their after school activities. Onufrak-Eichberg-visit_ (2) While we were in Florida, my husband and I had opportunity to visit Sarasota’s beautiful white, powdery sand beaches and the John and Mable Ringling Museum of Art. It was mind bending to see the amount of priceless art that was collected by one family. I highly recommend visiting the museum complex if you’re in the area.

Grateful Surprises

I was pleasantly surprised when I returned home and several people told me I was on the front page of the local paper. The photo captured a beautiful and uplifting day in my home town, Westlake Village, singing patriotic songs on the lake: The National Anthem, God Bless America and America the Beautiful.

Linda-Eichberg-Westlake-Village-Yacht-Club

Photo Credit: Iris Smooth – Acorn Newspapers

What a blessing to sing outdoors gazing at the majesty of the Santa Monica mountains on a perfect spring day! The Marine Corps Color Guard added their support to the Yacht Club sailing season opening ceremony. Seoul 1988 OG, Medal ceremony - Sailing, 470 - Two Person Dinghy Women, Allison JOLLY (USA) 1st et Lynne JEWELL (USA) 1st.

Interestingly, two Westlake Yacht Club sailors won the Gold Medal for the U.S. A. at the 1988 Seoul Olympics. Allyson Jolly and Lynn Jewel won the medal in the 470 class, competing against the best women sailors in the world. They were the first women to win a Gold Medal in sailing. Fantastic achievement ladies!

 

Michael-McDonald-photo-Linda-EichbergAnother wonderful surprise was getting a spontaneous invite from good friends to see Michael McDonald, of Doobie Brothers fame, in concert at the Canyon Club. I have great memories of my husband and I having our first date at a Doobie Brothers concert thirty five years ago. Yes, Michael sings as well now as he did then. It was a terrific show!

Choosing Joy

I appreciate all these things and I am abundantly grateful for my faith in God and the gift of His Son, Jesus. In him I have forgiveness and the power to be all God created me to be. With him, I am called a daughter of the Most High.

~ with a grateful heart, Linda

The Lord is my strength and shield. I trust him with all my heart. He helps me, and my heart is filled with joy. I burst out in songs of thanksgiving.” – Psalm 28:7 (NLT)

Happy-Day-photo-copyright-Linda-Eichberg

 

 

 All content is copyrighted and may not be used without written permission.

2 thoughts on “Gratitude God Rewards

  1. I heard Matthew McConaughey during the show and what a bold move to say God is his guidance. And I know this wonderful Deepak Chopra quote.
    Linda, you are a beacon of hope to encourage anyone you meet to be so grateful for every gift.. You love the Lord.

Leave a Reply

