The Uphill Climb – Health Care

We have all been hearing a lot of arguing about health care on the news. Who can come up with the perfect plan that is thorough enough to solve all our health care problems? I am not interested in getting into the political side of the debate but I agree, we are in a crisis and we have to do something.

“One out of three children is considered obese. Without committing to a healthier lifestyle, one in three children born since 2000 will develop diabetes.” [1]

This is shocking! One in three children!

My father was willing to sacrifice just about anything for his family to have a legacy of good health. His suffering in hospitals as a youth, from chronic digestive illness brought on by what was considered a typical Italian diet, changed his thinking and way of life. He became the model of a healthy lifestyle.

I am so proud of my husband, Steven. He recently lost 11 lbs. and was able to get rid of his blood pressure medication! We can begin taking on the health care crisis by making health a priority for ourselves and our family. “A better YOU will unlock your entire family’s potential.” [2]

My daughter, Lindsay and I, as well as other family members, enjoy hiking and even a little mountain climbing to stay fit. At our last outing, my sister Maria and I met some new friends while we were stretching on our way up the mountain.

Image

Fellow mountain climber follows Maria Lauren in a split – hamstring stretch.

Image

Those with a flexible back will not get bent out of shape. ~ Linda Eichberg

Father of Fitness

Today, is the “Father of Fitness,” Jack LaLanne’s birthday. He worked tirelessly to create a healthier world. Although he has left this world, his legacy lives on. He passed on his knowledge and enthusiasm for health and fitness to my dad who passed it on to his children. When I was growing up, Jack was spreading the news about the health benefits of drinking fresh raw vegetable juices while the majority of the world bought into the fast food – junk food mindset. I had the honor of meeting Jack and being on the Jack LaLanne TV show back in the mid 80’s. What an amazing man! We met again in 2009 for his 95th birthday celebration. The Fitness Instructors of Total Woman Gym saluted him with 95 jumping jacks. My sister, Maria, representing Kaiser Permanente’s Fitness Team was leading the group!

Image

The Biggest Mountain Of All

Besides the benefits of good health, I am grateful to my parents for giving me many wonderful life skills. My parents worked hard all their lives and finally achieved their dream of providing their children with a large home in the suburbs. One day a fire took it all. Our beautiful family home burned to the ground along with all the contents and cherished photos. Conquering the ‘mountain’ of loss is one of the hardest things to do. My parents and siblings were resilient; faith in God, love and thankfulness held them together.

Maria and I had just moved out of the house before the time of the fire. We were working in the television industry. I am grateful we had a few family photos with us. These photos are practically the only ones left from my youth of my family and I having fitness fun together!

Alberici-family-fitness

Family fitness fun!

Although we lost our home and possessions, I have learned to say, “The Lord gave and the Lord has taken away; may the name of the Lord be praised.” [3]

Wishing you a healthy transformation and radiant health! Linda

“The law of the Lord is perfect, refreshing the soul. The statutes of the Lord are trustworthy, making wise the simple. The precepts of the Lord are right, giving joy to the heart. The commands of the Lord are radiant, giving light to the eyes.” – Psalm 19:7-8

Refrences:

1) http://www.letsmove.gov/learn-facts/epidemic-childhood-obesity

2) http://www.lindaeichberg.com/

3) Job 1:21

DISCLAIMER: This is a personal blog, reflecting my personal opinions and its contents are not intended to offer personal medical advice. This blog does not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employers. You should seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. All content is copyrighted. Photo credit is given when know but some photos of unknown origin may appear on this blog. Please contact me if you have additional information about photo credits.

Leave a Reply

