Keeping Your Split

I love my work as a fitness instructor! I have the opportunity to teach wonderful woman of all ages in my job at Total Woman Gym. Although I am beginning my senior years, being a dancer in my youth, I am very grateful to have retained most of my flexibility and core strength.

About two years ago I challenged the women in my Yoga and Pilates classes to try and do a split. I heard a few giggles and groans when I went into my split for the class. I know they were saying to themselves, “Ha ha ha, you’re funny Linda; that’s not going to happen.” I’m happy to say, a couple of adventurous ladies did try it.

Image

I continued the challenge every other week or so (I didn’t want to scare away the new people). Now I have several ladies in my classes, from their 20’s to their 60’s, doing splits. Many are only a few inches away. They kept coming to class and they kept trying. Class by class, inch by inch, and then one day, they had it, a full split!!

Together, my sister and I enjoy giving ‘infotainment’ talks on fitness and woman’s empowerment. Maria is also a fitness trainer and she is a lifestyle educator at Kaiser Permanente. We both have a passion for helping women be the best they can be in body. mind and spirit.

Alberici-Sisters-Maria-Lauren-Linda-Eichberg

ALBERICI SISTERS Maria & Linda talk YOU GOT THE POWER – Be Positive, Be Fit

During a recent wellness forum and fitness demo, Maria and I talked about “keeping our split.” I have to say, when we simultaneously demonstrated our splits for the women, they were surprised and really perked up! In addition to speaking on exercise, gratitude and positive thinking are key talking points for us as well as the value of eating fresh whole foods.

Iron Sharpens Iron [1]

Maria and I influence other instructors as well. My gal pal, Colleen Kincaid Jackson, who is a fitness and water aerobics instructor came home from one of our presentations with a fresh vision for herself. She told me, “I warned my students, they are ‘in for it’, now that I have the goal of recovering my split!” Colleen is equally inspiring to me as she exudes the inner beauty that comes with a close walk with Jesus. She and her husband, Randy, have poured out a good portion of their lives into their ministry in “Young Life”. [2]

Image

Linda Eichberg and Colleen Jackson

Colleen, Maria and I met up again last month at a national reunion of the Dean Martin Show. We were all singers and dancers on that show in the “Golddiggers” group. So many of the cast and crew showed up for the reunion. It was a blast!

Photo: Colleen, Maria and I back in the day as Dean Martin Golddiggers

The Golddiggers - 1973, from left to right: Patti Pivarnik Gribow, Linda Alberici Eichberg, Robin Hoctor-Horneff, Maria Lauren. Colleen Kincaid Jackson, Deborah Pratt, Susan Buckner, Lee Nolting

THE GOLDDIGGERS – 1973, from left to right: Patti Pivarnik Gribow, Linda Alberici Eichberg, Robin Hoctor-Horneff, Maria Lauren, Colleen Kincaid Jackson, Deborah Pratt, Susan Buckner & Lee Nolting

Some of Dean’s celebrity guest stars from the television show also made an appearance at the event. I had the pleasure of sharing some TV memories with Florence Henderson. You might remember her best as the mom from The Brady Bunch TV series. She has a lovely spirit. I enjoyed talking with her.

Florence Henderson with Linda Eichberg

Florence Henderson with Linda Eichberg

This occasion brought together all the different generations of Dean Martin’s Golddiggers groups. It was great to reconnect with the ladies I performed with for so many years and have the opportunity to meet other woman who shared the “Golddiggers” name. The highlight of the “Gold Event” was when we all came together for some singing and dancing!

Image

THE GOLDDIGGERS of the Dean Martin Show – 1968 to 1991 at the 2013 “Gold Event” Reunion

“Make new friends but keep the old. One is silver and the other is gold.”… as in “Golddiggers.” 

I have great appreciation for everyone who put this reunion together. There is something to be said for being with and working with friends who have known you for so long and know the good and the not so good about you. True love to be sure!

“If power doesn’t mean that you have the opportunity to work with the people that you love , then you haven’t really got any.” – Frank Sinatra

Working on the Dean Martin Show and touring with the Rat Pack, was an amazing time in our lives. Check out our book, BEYOND OUR WILDEST DREAMS. It’s a fun read that will transport you back to that glamorous time!

~ All the best, Linda

Beyond Our Wildest Dreams

BEYOND OUR WILDEST DREAMS by The Alberici Sisters, is available at Amazon.com and BarnesNoble.com.

 

References:

1) “As iron sharpens iron, so one person sharpens another.” Proverbs 27:17

2) Young Life – http://www.younglife.org/us

 

DISCLAIMER: This is a personal blog, reflecting my personal opinions and its contents are not intended to offer personal medical advice. This blog does not necessarily reflect the opinions of my employers. You should seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health provider with any questions you may have regarding a medical condition. All content is copyrighted. Photo credit is given when know but some photos of unknown origin may appear on this blog. Please contact me if you have additional information about photo credits.

5 thoughts on “Keeping Your Split

  1. No problem for me to do a split, but how about holding a plank for a few seconds only with one arm and in opposition a leg lifted too?
    When I took your fitness class last week at Total Women Gym, you were in plank and asked us to try it. I looked up thinking, “What are you cracked..?” …lost my balance crashed and burned on the floor. You ploughed forward when you saw it was only your sister making the commotion. The show must go on 🙂 You’ve motivated me to put this in my practice and I’m working to get it. What a challenge for my core! Maybe next time you see me I’ll be able to take on this strong plank.

  2. Linda, I loved reading this. You and Maria are doing such a wonderful thing to help empower women. I am proud to know you, Love Kat Feldman

  3. I’m so happy for your success in teaching those in your exercise classes. I know that they are grateful for your skill and the care you extend to them. Sisters inspire each other… thank you for your inspiration! 😉

Leave a Reply

