The Starfish Story and My Source of Life

Image

The Starfish Story

One day a man was walking along the beach when he noticed a young woman picking something up and gently throwing it into the ocean.

Approaching the young lady, he asked “What are you doing?”

She replied, “Throwing starfish back into the ocean. The surf is up and the tide is going out. If I don’t throw them back they’ll die.”

“Young lady,” the man said. “Don’t you realize there are miles and miles of beach and hundreds of starfish? You can’t possibly make a difference.”

After listening politely, the young woman bent down, picked up another starfish, and threw it back into the surf. She then smiled at the man and said, “I made a difference for that one.”

The man looked at the young woman inquisitively and thought about what she had done. Inspired, he joined her in throwing starfish back into the sea and many were saved.[1]

The Vision and Actions of One or Two People Can Inspire and Save Many. 

You are probably familiar with this story. It has appeared in different forms and been told in several ways. I lived my own real life starfish story when I was in Newport Beach last week visiting family and taking a short vacation. While I was walking along beautiful Crystal Cove, I saw two star fish stranded on the beach. As the tide receded, I realized there was no hope of them reaching the outgoing tide because they were blocked by a large rock. I was aware that if they didn’t reach their source of life, the ocean, they would dry out and die. It was going to be a hot day so I carried them to the water. When I placed them in the water, I understood more deeply what God was speaking to my heart about the ‘rock’, the things that were keeping me from experiencing Christ’s fullness, his ‘living water’. Like the man in the story, I often miss God’s big picture by focusing on the wrong picture. I want to do things of everlasting significance but I sometimes lose sight of Jesus, the navigator, my source of life. Even though I’m not the best Christ follower and I can’t do all the things I wish I could, God mercifully opened my eyes to some of the wonderful things He is doing in my life that I am a part of.

Over the past month or so I have had the privilege of being involved in some notable and praiseworthy events. Our church, Lighthouse Church, put on a banquet for Compassion First.[2] Human sex trafficking, especially the trafficking of young girls, is a problem in many parts of the world. Compassion First provides rescue and restoration for woman and young girls who have been sexually trafficked by caring for them physically, spiritually, mentally and emotionally. They provide a loving home, legal advocacy, education, physical and psychological care. They now have a hope for a brighter future. It is amazing to be a small part of what they are doing through my church. By being part of a church, the body of Christ, I become a link in a great chain of compassion serving God that is so much bigger than me, so the little I can do becomes more than I could have ever imagined.

Many are being rescued. Please find out more about this very important cause.

Our friends, the Heintz family, put on a fundraiser a couple of weeks ago at their beautiful home for the Lily of the Valley Children’s Village in South Africa.[3] It was a lively and inspirational musical event featuring singers and songwriters: Kevin Fisher, Tim Heintz, Sara Nienietz and Scott Wojahn. They are each uniquely talented and when they joined together at the end of the music set for a final song, they had the audience standing and singing along. Many hands pitched in to make this evening a success  Good fun and delicious food for a great purpose!

Image

With hearts full of love, Tim & Sharon Heintz talk about the orphans at Lily of the Valley.
Scott Wojahn, Kevin Fisher, Sara Nienietz & Tim Heintz perform.

Having spent more than a year living at the Children’s Village, the Heintz’s know first hand about the amazing work that is being accomplished for orphans there, who have been so severely affected by the AIDS pandemic. Throughout the evening, Tim and Sharon shared several stories about their time at Lily. They remarked that the orphanage was once a place where children went to die of AIDS but they are no longer dying. They are thriving because of the sacrificial love and care they receive. My husband and I share Tim & Sharon’s passion for Lily.

Mothers Day

Mothers Day was a wonderful celebration for me as my loving husband and daughter expressed their extreme appreciation of things I do automatically every day for them without thinking much about it. It gave me a new perspective of myself, motherhood and service. I was refreshed and re-energized.

Image

The Master Gardener has been doing some spring pruning in me and my life. I’m looking forward to the final results of the good fruit it will produce. I pray God will open the eyes of your heart as He did for me this past month, so you will more fully experience the forgiveness, glory, grace, truth, peace and love found in His Son, Jesus. May He guide your way with His light because you are important, you are needed, you can make a difference.

~ You are loved, Linda

Turn-Your-Eyes-Upon-Jesus-Gratitude

References:
1) The Starfish Story adapted from The Star Thrower by Loren Eiseley (1907 – 1977)
2) Compassion First, web site – http://www.compassionfirst.org/
3) Lily of the Valley Children’s Village – http://www.lov.org.za/

Bible References:

“You will search for me. And when you search for me with all your heart, you will find me! I will let you find me,” says the Lord.” Jeremiah 29: 13-14 (NCV)

“Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up. Therefore, as we have opportunity, let us do good to all people, especially to those who belong to the family of believers.” – Galatians 6: 9-10

“The human body has many parts, but the many parts make up one whole body. So it is with the body of Christ. Some of us are Jews, some are Gentiles, some are slaves, and some are free. But we have all been baptized into one body by one Spirit, and we all share the same Spirit.” – 2Corinthians 12: 12-13 (NLT)

“I am jealous for you with a godly jealousy. I promised you to one husband, to Christ, so that I might present you as a pure virgin to him. But I am afraid that just as Eve was deceived by the serpent’s cunning, your minds may somehow be led astray from your sincere and pure devotion to Christ.” – 2Corinthians 11: 2-4

2 thoughts on “The Starfish Story and My Source of Life

  1. To say I am extremely proud and honored to be married to such a gifted, talented, wonderful person and that she is also my best friend would be an understatement. Linda, you grow more wise everyday. Your heart knows no boundary and you keep giving of yourself always. I couldn’t ask for a better partner in life. Lindsay couldn’t ask for a better more compasstionate loving and nurturing mother.

Leave a Reply

