From the Academy to Humanity – Ben Affleck Lives ‘The GRATITUDE Life’

It warmed my heart to see Ben Affleck’s follow up to his Academy Award for Best Picture. Ben’s moving new video caught my eye this week. In it, he passionately tells the story of the catastrophic events in the eastern Congo region of Africa, where “generations have struggled under a cycle of violence and poverty.” There is also an outpouring of gratitude for his blessings in this video. Ben expresses his thankfulness by putting a good portion of his time and energy into the Eastern Congo Initiative. This group works for that region of Africa as well as with the people in those communities.

Ben Afleck’s recent Oscar win for ”Argo”, is his second Oscar. He also received the Academy Award for “Good Will Hunting” – Best Original Screenplay. Ben had this to say about his continued good fortune, “I’m a very fortunate person. I’ve been lucky and blessed enough to be very successful in ways I’ve always wanted as an actor, writer, director and so on, but I got to a point where I felt like, I’m living this kind of vacuous life. I’m just living for myself. I’m chasing some idea or some goal but I didn’t know what my values were. I didn’t know what I was contributing to the world.”

Image

Ben Affleck Finds ‘the Meaning of Life’

To answer his heart’s call, Ben founded Eastern Congo Initiative three years ago. It supports local organizations who are “creating lasting change in the lives of vulnerable children and survivors of sexual violence.” It is also creating economic opportunity for these people who have an “unrelenting desire to realize the extraordinary potential of their country.” Ben believes, “This is important work.”

“This is what I believe in, I think of as the meaning of life, getting involved with something, helping others, improving the fabric of the universe. I believe if we do that, even just a little bit, I think you’ll find your life gets better too.” – Ben Affleck 

Giving Back

I have to agree with Ben. Giving to others less fortunate has enriched my life. In many ways it has opened new worlds to me. My husband Steven, and I have been very involved in supporting the area of South Africa hardest hit by the AIDS pandemic. We traveled to that region to grasp a vision of what could be attained by becoming more involved in this desperate plight that was affecting millions. There were many blessing and miracles involved in the work we did on behalf of the Zulu people and the Lily of the Valley Children’s Village, HIV/AIDS orphanage. A medical center, an amphitheater, a second Children’s Village and a vocational school were built and much more is still being accomplished.

Many people of different faiths were involved in our united effort and poured so much of themselves into KwaZulu Natal, South Africa; one example is our friends, the Heintz family. They went to the Lily of the Valley orphanage at their own expense. This lovely Christian family lived and ministered there for 15 months. Tim Heintz is a composer who has written musical scores for movies such as “Gone in 60 Seconds” and “Enemy of the State,” Tim also provided the music for the LoveFest fund-raisers we held here in California for the Lily of the Valley Endeavor.

lily-of- the-valley-Eichberg

Pictured – (right) Steven & Linda Eichberg at Lily of the Valley Children’s Village (top left) Sharon Heintz, Sharon Clack, Founder – Lily of the Valley Endeavor & Tim Heintz breaking ground for the now completed Medical Centre (bottom left) Lily kids 

 

My sister, June Kuz and her family of five are headed to Guatemala this summer to work together with their church and spread God’s love in the communities there. I can’t wait to hear about the amazing life changing results of that trip. The stories we share offer incredible possibilities for the good of the world but we can’t do it on our own.

Please view and share this video, about the vision and purpose of Eastern Congo Initiative and this massive humanitarian crisis, in the heartfelt words of Ben Affleck.

 

“I am only one, but still I am one. I cannot do everything, but still I can do something; and because I cannot do everything, I will not refuse to do something that I can do.” – Helen Keller

Lily of the Valley Endeavor – http://www.LilyValleyUSA.org

Lily of the Valley Children’s Village – http://www.lov.org.za

“And he will answer, ‘I tell you the truth, when you refused to help the least of these my brothers and sisters, you were refusing to help me.’” – Jesus, in Matthew 25:45 NLV

 
DISCLAIMER: This is a personal blog, reflecting my personal opinions and its contents are not intended to offer personal medical advice. Statements on this site do not represent the views or policies of my employer or any other organization with which I may be affiliated. All content is copyrighted. Photo credit is given when know but some photos of unknown origin may appear on this blog. Please contact me if you have additional information about photo credits.
2 thoughts on “From the Academy to Humanity – Ben Affleck Lives ‘The GRATITUDE Life’

  1. You are right! We MUST give back…as Americans who have so much more than the rest of the world we had better be giving everything we can!!! Great post 😉

Leave a Reply

